Skip to main content

University of Arkansas Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Records

Identifier: MC 168

Scope and Content Note

Collection consists of correspondence, reports, meeting minutes, and general materials.


  • Creation: 1945-1967


Language of Materials

Materials are in English.

Access Information

Please call (479) 575-8444 or email at least two weeks in advance of your arrival to ensure availability of the materials.

Use Information

All materials in box 5 are restricted. No Interlibrary Loan. Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

Biographical Note

The College of Arts and Sciences of the University of Arkansas was formally established in 1912. Earlier, all departments which would make up the new college had been a part of the College of Liberal Arts, Sciences, and Engineering. The original curriculum of the college consisted of English, mathematics, history, Latin, some foreign languages, public speaking, and elementary sciences. The College of Arts and Sciences is one of the largest colleges on the campus in terms of students enrolled and number of degrees awarded. The first dean of the college was Edgar F. Shannon who served from 1913 until 1914. George W. Droke succeeded him and served from 1914 until 1925. Droke was followed by John Clark Jordan who served only two years from 1925 through 1927. Following Jordan was Virgil L. Jones who served as dean from 1927-1939. Hemphill M. Hosford was dean through the entire Second World War from 1939 through 1946. The bulk of the material in this collection was generated by Guerdon David Nichols who succeeded Hosford and served from 1946 through 1965. He was followed by Robert F. Kruh who also authored some items contained in the collection.

Guerdon David Nichols was a native Iowan who first joined the University of Arkansas faculty as a mathematics instructor in 1927. He became a full professor in 1945 and the following year was appointed dean of the college. He left his position as dean in 1965 to return to his teaching duties. He retired from full-time teaching in 1967. Under the leadership of Dean Nichols, the College of Arts and Sciences swelled in enrollment. He was a major advocate for the development of a general education program which intended to ensure well-rounded education for all arts and sciences students. He also oversaw the development of an honors program in various departments of the college which sought to challenge the most talented students. In 1958, Arkansas Act 10 was passed by the state legislature which required all public employees to disclose their political affiliations retroactive for five years. Nichols was a fierce opponent of the act and as a result was awarded the third annual Alexander Mieklejohn Award by the American Association of University Professors for his leadership.


2 Linear Feet (5 boxes)

Arrangement of the Papers

Collection is arranged by type with correspondence first followed by departmental reports, and general materials. Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by file title. Departmental reports are arranged chronologically. General materials are arranged alphabetically by file title.

Acquisition Information

The University of Arkansas Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Records were donated to Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries on February 2, 1973 by the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences through Martha Temple.

Processing Information

Amy Allen and Heath Robinson; completed in September 2014.

University of Arkansas Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Records
Amy Allen and Heath Robinson
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid is written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Department Repository

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Avenue
Fayetteville AR 72701 United States
(479) 575-8444