Skip to main content

University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Records

Identifier: MC 2196.UA

Scope and Content Note

This collection consists of meeting minutes, reports, and publications.


  • 1961-2007


Language of Materials

Materials are in English.

Access Information

Access restrictions apply: Box 1, Folder 43 is restricted and may not be accessed.

Please call (479) 575-8444 or email at least two weeks in advance of your arrival to ensure availability of the materials.

Use Information

No Use Restrictions Apply.

No Interlibrary Loan.

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

Biographical Note

The Division of Agriculture was created on September 26, 1959, with a vote of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees to create a system-level entity to administer agricultural teaching, research and extension programs in the state as part of the land-grant mission. It includes the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station, and the Cooperative Extension Service and operates alongside the colleges of agriculture at the system campuses. The Division has members on five campuses, at five research and extension centers, and in extension offices in all 75 counties. The Division’s mission “is to strengthen agriculture, communities and families by connecting trusted research to the adoption of best practices.”

The Division is under the leadership of the Vice President for Agriculture of the University of Arkansas System. Vice Presidents for Research, Extension, and Academic Programs report to the Vice President of Agriculture. The first Vice President for Agriculture was John W. White who served from the Division’s creation in 1959 to 1974. Successive Vice Presidents for Agriculture are as follows: James Martin (1975-1980), John Goodwin (1981-1986), Preston La Ferney (1986-1992), Milo Shult (1992-2010), Mark J. Cochran (2011-Present).


2 Linear Feet (2 boxes)

Arrangement of the Papers

Materials are arranged in alphabetical order.

Acquisition Information

The University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Records were donated to Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries by the Division of Agriculture through Sophia Fowler of Fayetteville, AR in 2009.

Processing Information

Processed by Heath Robinson and Keisha Stevenson; completed in April 2019.

University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture Records
Heath Robinson
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid is written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Department Repository

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Avenue
Fayetteville AR 72701 United States
(479) 575-8444