Skip to main content

University of Arkansas College of Agriculture Records

Identifier: MC 2195.UA

Scope and Content Note

The collection contains materials pertaining to the College of Agriculture at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. These are primarily faculty meeting minutes, departmental records, and student organizations materials.


  • 1915-1989
  • 1915-1958


Language of Materials

Materials are in English.

Access Information

Please call (479) 575-8444 or email at least two weeks in advance of your arrival to ensure availability of the materials.

Use Information

"No Use Restrictions Apply.

No Interlibrary Loan.

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17)."

Biographical Note

The University of Arkansas has offered agriculture classes from its early days as part of its responsibility as a land-grant institution. The first degree in the study of agriculture was awarded in 1904. While a separate college of agriculture had been part of the original administrative structure of the university, it wasn’t until 1905 that this became a reality. The college has closely collaborated with the Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service since the inception of both entities. In the 1890s, the College of Agriculture offered the following courses: dairy husbandry, elementary and advanced agriculture, veterinary science, stock breeding, and horticulture. Course offerings increased over the years to include twenty majors and twenty minors over nine academic departments and a school as of 2019.

In 1954, the college was renamed “College of Agriculture and Home Economics”. In 1995, the college’s name was changed again to “Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food, and Life Sciences. That same year, the home economics department became the School of Human Environmental Sciences and remained a unit of the college. The first dean of the college was W. G. Vincenheller who served in that capacity from 1905-1908. Successive deans were as follows: Charles F. Adams (1908-193), Martin Nelson (1913-1920), Bradford Knapp (1920-1923), Dan Gray (1924-1939), W. R. Horlacher (1939-1946), Lippert Ellis (1946-1959), Gerald T. Hudson (1959-1964), Glenn Hardy (1965-1987), Gerald Musick (1987-1993), Charles Scifres (1994-2001), Greg Weidemann (2001-2009), Michael Vayda (2010-2016), and Deacue Fields III (2016-Present).


1 Linear Feet (1 box)

Arrangement of the Papers

Materials are arranged alphabetically by title and chronologically within materials of the same title.

Acquisition Information

The University of Arkansas College of Agriculture Records were donated to Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries by an unknown donor at an unknown date.

Processing Information

Heath Robinson and Keisha Stevenson; completed in March 2019.

University of Arkansas College of Agriculture Records
Keisha Stevenson
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid is written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Department Repository

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Avenue
Fayetteville AR 72701 United States
(479) 575-8444