Skip to main content

University of Arkansas Sociology Department Records

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MC 75

Scope and Content Note

This collection consists of departmental meeting minutes and a report on economic development in Arkansas from the sociology department. The collection also contains correspondence, meeting minutes, programs and information compiled by the Scholastic Honors Committee while planning the Honors Day Convocations from 1941 to 1951.


  • 1941-1951


Language of Materials

Materials are in English.

Access Information

Please call (479) 575-8444 or email at least two weeks in advance of your arrival to ensure availability of the materials.

Use Information

No Use Restrictions Apply.

No Interlibrary Loan.

Standard Federal Copyright Laws Apply (U.S. Title 17).

Historical Note

Sociology courses were first offered in 1898 within the Department of Economics and Sociology. More sociology courses were added over time and in 1941, the Department of Sociology was formed, separate from Economics. The Department of Sociology continued to grow and in 1947 Professor Anthony Stephen Stephan joined the Department of Sociology as chair, holding the office until 1969. In 1948, the Department of Sociology began to offer a major in Anthropology. In 1955, the department was renamed the Department of Sociology and Anthropology. The Department of Sociology and Anthropology grew in size and popularity, and in 1969, it was split into two separate departments.

Through these years, the Department of Sociology and its relationship with other departments resulted in a collaborative work found in folder 2 of this collection. Several professors who worked on this report shared in the growth of the College of Arts and Sciences, namely, Professor Stephan, Mrs. Mattie Cal Maxted (Social Work), Professor William S. Bonner (sociology), and others.

With the growth of the College of Arts and Sciences through the early 20th century, the University of Arkansas welcomed a chapter of the nationally recognized honors society Phi Beta Kappa in 1932. In 1941 with aid from Phi Beta Kappa, Jobelle Holcombe of the English Department initiated an annual Honors Day Convocation. Holcombe was president of the Scholastic Honors Committee from 1941-1942. The Scholastic Honors Committee organized the Honors Day Convocation held each spring to recognize the academic excellence of University of Arkansas students. Shortly after the inaugural Honors Day, honors courses were being created, which would eventually grow into a University wide honors program.


.25 Linear Feet (1 box)

Arrangement of the Papers

The collection is organized with the sociology department records first followed by the Scholastic Honors Committee files organized chronologically.

Acquisition Information

The University of Arkansas Sociology Department Records were donated to Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries in 1969 by the Sociology Department through Anthony Stephen Stephan.

Processing Information

Amy Allen and Tyrel Weston; completed in June 2016.

University of Arkansas Sociology Department Records
Amy Allen and Tyrel Weston
June 2016
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Finding aid is written in English.

Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Department Repository

University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Avenue
Fayetteville AR 72701 United States
(479) 575-8444